Donate Take Action

Join us

Oceana Magazine Winter 2009: News & Events

New lineup on Oceana's Board of Directors

In October, Oceana named Keith Addis as the new Chairman of its Board of Directors. Addis succeeds Herbert "Beto" Bedolfe III, who stepped aside after six years directing Oceana's birth and growth into a major organization. Bedolfe remains a board member.

"I've known Keith for over 20 years," said board member Ted Danson. "Not only is he a great friend, he is an amazing talent. He was instrumental in making American Oceans Campaign - in its later years - so successful. I am 100 percent confident that he will do great things for Oceana and the oceans."

Addis joined Oceana's Board of Directors when it merged with the American Oceans Campaign in 2001. Since then, he has been a vocal advocate for Oceana and shepherded the annual Partners Award Gala into a successful fundraiser and must-attend event in California. Addis is the co-founder of Industry Entertainment, a top management and production company.

"I'm honored to become Oceana's Chairman and to succeed Beto Bedolfe, who deserves so much credit for Oceana's impressive growth and effectiveness," said Addis. "We're facing incredible challenges, but Oceana is becoming even more successful and influential in protecting our oceans."

Dr. Kristian Parker, who oversees the environmental program at the Oak Foundation, based in Geneva, succeeds Addis as Vice Chairman. James Sandler of the Sandler Foundation, of Oakland, Calif., takes the role of Treasurer, and Simon Sidamon-Eristoff, a lawyer with the tax-exempt organizations group at Kalbian Hagerty LLP in Washington, DC, remains Secretary of Oceana.  

In addition, Oceana named Valarie Whiting as a new board member. With Julie Hill, Whiting created the inaugural SeaChange event, which raised more than $800,000 for Oceana in one of the biggest environmental fundraisers ever held in Orange County, California.

"She is a creative person and a real leader," said Andrew Sharpless, CEO of Oceana. "We can't wait to see what she will do next for the oceans."


Celebrity Surf Event

On September 28, Oceana joined its surf partners Duke's Malibu, ValSurf, Malibu Magazine, Freedom Artists and Sicky Dicky for its Celebrity Free Surf, held in conjunction with the 2nd Annual Malibu Invitational Surf Competition, which benefited Lyon Herron and honored Oceana. Former Chairman and current board member Beto Bedolfe served as "Chairman of the Surfboard" for the event.

Celebrities included Ocean Council member Kelsey Grammer, producers Brian Grazer (Apollo 13, Changeling) and Tom Shadyac (Ace Ventura, Bruce Almighty), actors Eric Balfour (24), Sam Trammell (True Blood), Scott Caan (Gone in Sixty Seconds), Leonor Varela (Cleopatra), Spencer Grammer (Greek), Kyle Howard (My Boys), Chris Bruno (Dead Zone), Cameron Richardson (Alvin and the Chipmunks) and John Savage (Everwood) as well as Olympic swimmer Chloe Sutton, KCRW Radio DJ Liza Richardson and former pro surfer Veronica Kay Baker.